Smyth County Websites

Smyth County on n2genealogy – Virginia.n2genealogy.com/va-county-smyth.html
Smyth County on US Genweb Project – usgennet.org/usa/va/county/smyth
Smyth County wiki on Family Search – wiki.familysearch.org
Allen-Bonham-Killinger Families of Smyth County, VA – home.naxs.com/veselik/
Smyth County Public Library – www.sbrl.org
Smyth County – smythcounty.org
Smyth County News – swvatoday.com
Museum of the Middle Appalachians – museum-mid-app.org/
Konnarock Retreat House:  konnarockretreathouse.org

Regional Websites

New River Notes – newrivernotes.com
Rambling Roots – ramblingroots.com
Historical Society of Southwest Virginia:  www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~vahsswv/
Wytheville Community College Kegley Library – kegleylibrary.wcc.vccs.edu

County Societies

Bland County Historical Society – blandcountyhistsoc.org
Botetourt County Historical Society:  www.bothistsoc.org
Carroll County Historical Society:  historicalsociety.chillsnet.org
Giles County Historical Society:  www.gilescountyhistorical.org
Grayson County Historical Society:  graysonvahistsoc.com
Grayson County Virginia Heritage Foundation:  www.graysonheritage.org
Russell County Public Library:  russell.lib.va.us/local-history
Scott County Historical Society:  www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~vaschs2/
Tazewell County Historical Society – tazewellhistory.org
Historical Society of Washington County, Virginia – hswcv.org
Wise County Genealogy:  vagenweb.org/wise/
Wise County Historical Society: www.wisevahistoricalsoc.org
Wythe County Genealogical and Historical Association – wythecogha.org/pages/home.php

Virginia Websites

Virginia Historical Society – vahistorical.org
Library of Virginia – lva.virginia.gov
Virginia Office of Vital Records – vdh.state.va.us/vital_records/index.htm

Major Websites for Genealogical Information

Family Search – familysearch.org
Ancestry.com $$ 
Note: Free access Ancestry.com is available in the Southwest Virginia Heritage Room at Smyth County Public Library
Find A Grave – Findagrave.com
Rootsweb – Rootsweb.com
The US Gen Web Project – usgenweb.org
National Archives – archives.gov
Fold3 (formerly Footnote)$$ – fold3.com

Notes:
$$ Use of this service requires a membership fee

If you know of any additional resources you have found useful in your research that we could post on this page, please email the link to info@smythcountgs.org.